For employers, it is often best to prevent issues with employees from going to litigation. By being proactive, employers can keep these issues from occurring in the first place. There are many different steps that employers can take to help prevent litigation, and it...
Are employees required to give two weeks’ notice?
Employees are generally not required to give two weeks’ notice before leaving a position. For most at-will employees, they can decide to quit at any time. They have this right in the same sense that their employer can decide to fire them at any time. Neither side has...
5 areas where discrimination is prohibited
California is a state that has strong protections for employees. This includes prohibiting discrimination. There are also federal protections that mean discrimination is illegal, so there are laws at multiple levels addressing these issues. At a state level, however,...
Study claims there is dual-ended ageism in tech
Age discrimination has long been an issue in many industries. Older workers may feel that they are being relieved of their duties to be replaced by younger workers, for example. There are protections against this type of discrimination, and deliberate age...
Documentation can help counter wrongful termination claims
Employers are often concerned about wrongful termination claims after employees have been let go. Even if the employer has followed all the laws and believes that the termination was handled correctly – it was not based on discrimination or the violation of an...
Are workers allowed to discuss their wages in California?
Yes, workers in California are allowed to discuss their wages with their coworkers at any time that they want. It is important for employees to know that they have this right, and it is also important for employers to understand that they cannot infringe upon it....
Why many sexual harassment cases in the workplace are not reported
Sexual harassment in the workplace is significantly and frequently underreported. Many incidents involving unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors and other verbal or physical harassment of a sexual nature are never formally reported to the employer. ...
How much overtime pay can employees earn in California?
California employees who work extra hours may be entitled to overtime pay. An eligible employee may be entitled to one and one-half or double their income when they work overtime. Certain employees who work more than 8 hours in a workday or 40 hours in a workweek or...
When does “cultural fit” become age bias?
Employers often talk about "cultural fit" when reviewing candidates for job openings. In many workplaces, that means looking for employees whose values, communication preferences and work ethic align with the organization's environment. While considering cultural fit...
California employers need to know about reproductive loss leave
As a California employer, it can be difficult to keep up with the ever-changing state laws related to wages, discrimination, contracts and paid and unpaid leaves. Some employers (and employees) may not even realize that California requires employers to allow employees...
